Groundwater Control Areas and Advisory Boards

Three groundwater management districts called Control Areas have been established in the southeast portion of the state. All applications for new wells exceeding 25 gallons per minute (gpm) (exempting stock, domestic, and miscellaneous under 25 gpm) or petitions for change of existing groundwater use within the boundaries of the designated areas must pass through an additional level of review involving public notice and recommendation from a 5-member elected Advisory Board prior to approval. The Groundwater Control Area Advisory Boards advise and assist the State Engineer and Board of Control in formulating policies and recommendations on applications and petitions concerning groundwater development in the Control Area. Each Control Area Advisory Board is comprised of five property owners residing within the Control Area. The members are elected to four-year terms by property owners who own land within the Control Area. Members may serve two consecutive terms and no political split is required.

Laramie County

Name City Expiration

Ty Lerwick Cheyenne 7/31/2023

Brady Petsch Meriden 7/31/2023

Laurie Jackson Hillsdale 7/31/2024

Todd Fornstrom Pine Bluffs 7/31/2024

Cody Smith Carpenter 7/31/2024

Platte County

Name City Expiration

Jason Reyes Wheatland 7/31/2023

Amy Miller Wheatland 7/31/2023

Doug DeRouchey Wheatland 7/31/2024

Richard Johnson Wheatland 7/31/2024

Kelly Kennedy Wheatland 7/31/2024

(click map to enlarge)

Prairie Center

Name City Expiration

Dylan Hager Torrington 7/31/2023

Greg DesEnfants Torrington 7/31/2023

Elden Baldwin Torrington 7/31/2026

Jim Becker Southerland 7/31/2026

Kathie France Torrington 7/31/2026


The Platte County Groundwater Control Area Advisory Board will meet Tuesday, October 25, 2022 at 1:00 P.M. in the Board of Control field office at 1560 B Johnston Street, Wheatland, WY 82201.

The Board will discuss and offer recommendations to the State Engineer on three groundwater applications: 1) Ernest and Beth Douglas IV, Temporary Filing Number 46-2-036 (the 2nd Enl Jones No 2 Well), 2) Julie and Robert Balzan, TFN U.W. 46-1-083 (the RJB 3Well), and 3) Earth Work Solutions, TFN U.W. 46-8-172 (the El Rancho Well No 1).

For additional information, please contact Lisa Lindemann, Administrator, Ground Water Division, at (307) 777-5063.

Prairie Center Groundwater Control Area: Election Results

The State Engineer's Office/Ground Water Division has tallied the votes from the July 13, 2022 Prairie Center Control Area Advisory Board election, and verified the number of acres voted through the online Goshen County Assessor's site. Thank you to all who participated in the election.

Congratulations to the following three individuals, including one incumbent and two new Board members:

  • Elden Baldwin (re-elected)

  • Jim Becker (new), and

  • Kathie France (new).

Each will serve a four-year term beginning July 2022.

Our many thanks to those willing to be nominated to serve on the Board. I hope that your interest in groundwater, and participation in Board activities continues.

Gratitude to past and present Board members. We appreciate you and your desire to represent your constituents on the Board.

For additional information, please call Lisa Lindemann, Administrator, Ground Water Division, at (307) 777-5063.